1982 – My Top 100 Songs

Rank Title Artist
1 Our House Madness
2 Fantasy Island Tight Fit
3 Give Me Back My Heart Dollar
4 Pass The Dutchie Musical Youth
5 Do You Really Want To Hurt Me Culture Club
6 Can’t Take My Eyes Off You Boys Town Gang
7 See You Depeche Mode
8 Only You Yazoo
9 Now Those Days Are Gone Bucks Fizz
10 The More We Try (B/S) Kenny Loggins
11 I Believe Chilliwack
12 Say Hello Wave Goodbye Soft Cell
13 I Don’t Want To Lose Your Love John O’Banion
14 65 Love Affair Paul Davis
15 Let Me Go Heaven 17
16 Maneater Daryl Hall & John Oates
17 Don’t Go Yazoo
18 Gloria Laura Branigan
19 The One You Love Glenn Frey
20 What About Me (AUS) Moving Pictures
21 Without You Franke & The Knockouts
22 Abracadabra Steve Miller Band
23 My Camera Never Lies Bucks Fizz
24 Time (Clock Of The Heart) Culture Club
25 Forget Me Nots Patrice Rushen
26 Why Carly Simon
27 Words (NED) FR David
28 Muscles Diana Ross
29 Mad World Tears For Fears
30 Midnight Blue (NED) Louise Tucker
31 Inside Out Odyssey
32 I Won’t Let You Down PhD
33 Just An Illusion Imagination
34 Just What I Always Wanted Mari Wilson
35 Nice Girls Eye To Eye
36 What! Soft Cell
37 Hard To Say I’m Sorry Chicago
38 Heart Attack Olivia Newton-John
39 Annie I’m Not Your Daddy Kid Creole & The Coconuts
40 Mama Used To Say Junior
41 Love Come Down Evelyn King
42 A Night To Remember Shalamar
43 Nasty Girl Vanity 6
44 House Of Fun Madness
45 Mirror Man Human League, The
46 Murphy’s Law Cheri
47 Africa Toto
48 Cheers Then Bananarama
49 It’s Raining Men Weather Girls, The
50 Slipping Through My Fingers (Trk) ABBA
51 Sexual Healing Marvin Gaye
52 Eye In The Sky Alan Parsons Project, The
53 1999 Prince
54 If The Love Fits Wear It Leslie Pearl
55 Hurt So Good John Cougar
56 C’mon Eileen Dexy’s Midnight Runners
57 Goody Two Shoes Adam Ant
58 The Look Of Love ABC
59 Open Arms Journey
60 Lies Thompson Twins
61 We Got The Beat Go-Go’s
62 Save A Prayer Duran Duran
63 Torch Soft Cell
64 Zoom Fat Larry’s Band
65 A Penny For Your Thoughts Tavares
66 Rock The Casbah Clash, The
67 Starmaker Kids From FAME
68 More Than This Roxy Music
69 Real Men (NED) Joe Jackson
70 If It Ain’t One Thing It’s Another Richard Dimples Fields
71 Make A Move On Me Olivia Newton-John
72 Steppin’ Out Joe Jackson
73 I’m So Excited Pointer Sisters, The
74 Mickey Toni Basil
75 My Girl Donnie Iris
76 Someday Someway Marshall Crenshaw
77 Love Plus One Haircut One Hundred
78 A Town Called Malice Jam, The
79 Hungry Like The Wolf Duran Duran
80 Golden Brown Stranglers, The
81 I Know There’s Something Going On Frida
82 She Blinded Me With Science Thomas Dolby
83 Driving In My Car Madness
84 Young Guns (Go For It) Wham!
85 Putting On The Ritz (GER) Taco
86 Poison Arrow (US Remix) ABC
87 You Never Gave Up On Me Crystal Gayle
88 Walking On Sunshine Rockers Revenge & Donnie Calvin
89 Baby Come To Me Patti Austin & James Ingram
90 Everybody Madonna
91 That Girl Stevie Wonder
92 You Should Hear How She Talks About You Melissa Manchester
93 Making Love Roberta Flack
94 Jack And Diane John Cougar
95 Oh Diane Fleetwood Mac
96 I Ran A Flock Of Seagulls
97 Let It Whip Dazz Band
98 Heartbreaker Dionne Warwick
99 Hold Me Fleetwood Mac
100 Up Where We Belong Joe Cocker & Jennifer Warnes
4 thoughts on “1982 – My Top 100 Songs

  1. With synthpop at its height during this period, I was surprised to see Madness at the top of the heap! As with your prior installments, this list is a wonderful cross-section of 80s pop, covering numerous genres and featuring a varied selection of international talent. And I enjoy learning of ‘new’ artists – Richard Dimples Fields?!

  2. I was quite the Madness fan, and thought 1982 is their best year. The themes are life-in-general nostalgic (family ties in Our House, early career struggle in Driving In My Car or the first visit to the sex shop in House Of Fun), but Madness has a way to delivering them in a flippantly infectious and non-straightlaced manner.
    With no internet back then, I was quite lucky to be situated in a place where I can receive music not only from the US or UK, but also Europe and Australia. I guess that explains the wide cross section.
    Glad you are continuing to learn of “new” 80s artists, Chris!

  3. I agree with DJSHELF. Another very varied list with some songs that I’m not familiar with. I look forward to checking them out when I get the time. If the ’60s are your bag Ric then you may be interested in the ’60s lists that I’m currently adding to my site (which is what’s keeping me insanely busy lately).

    By the way, it would be interesting to know where are you from. As I’m sure you guessed, I’m from Australia (Perth, Western Australia to be specific).

    • Grant, i hope you’ll be able to discover some “new” 80s retro. that you like.
      I have widened my scope of Aussie musimic thanks to your blog.
      I love 50s and 60s pop so you can bet I’ll check out any of your updates. It is a lot of work, But i is a passion, so it is all wortòh it. And thrilling to find other like-minded chart enthusiasts like you.
      My 1983 list hopefully can be ready soon too.
      Btw, I’m only 4 hours away from Perth here in sin city

Leave a Reply

