1985 – My Top 100 Songs

Rank Title Artist
1 Clouds Across The Moon RAH Band, The
2 Take On Me a-ha
3 West End Girls (RE) Pet Shop Boys
4 Slave To The Rhythm (Blooded) Grace Jones
5 I Know Him So Well Elaine Paige & Barbara Dickson
6 Into The Groove Madonna
7 There Must Be An Angel (Playing With My Heart) Eurythmics
8 Saving All My Love For You Whitney Houston
9 Something About You Level 42
10 Duel Propaganda
11 Everything She Wants  Wham!
12 Kiss Me Stephen Tin Tin Duffy
13 Thinking Of You Colourfield, The
14 A New England Kirsty MacColl
15 Breakfast Associates, The
16 Icing On The Cake Stephen Tin Tin Duffy
17 The Captain Of Her Heart (SUI) Double
18 Obsession Animotion
19 I Miss You Klymaxx
20 The Word Girl Scritti Politti
21 If I Was Midge Ure
22 Who Knows What Love Is Strawberry Switchblade
23 Love Will Follow (B/S) Kenny Loggins
24 Running Up That Hill Kate Bush
25 Crazy For You Madonna
26 See The Day Dee C Lee
27 Roses (US Remix) Haywoode
28 Never Surrender (CAN) Corey Hart
29 I’m Your Man Wham!
30 More Than I Can Bear Matt Bianco
31 Lean On Me (Ah-Li-Ayo) Red Box
32 Everybody Wants To Rule The World Tears For Fears
33 Through The Fire Chaka Khan
34 Hanging On A String (Contemplating) Loose Ends
35 Sorry Doesn’t Make It Anymore RAH Band, The
36 Trapped Colonel Abrams
37 Let’s Go All The Way Sly Fox
38 When Your Heart Is Weak Cock Robin
39 One Day Vince Clark & Paul Quinn
40 Last Time Forever Squeeze
41 When Love Breaks Down (RE) Prefab Sprout
42 Wide Boy Nik Kershaw
43 We Close Our Eyes Go West
44 All At Once (NED) Whitney Houston
45 Stay With Me Eighth Wonder
46 I Wanna Hear It From Your Lips (Jellybean Remix) Eric Carmen
47 Change Your Mind Sharpe & Numan
48 I Wonder If I Take You Home Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam w/Full Force
49 A View To A Kill Duran Duran
50 Soul Kiss (Extended Dance Mix) Olivia Newton John
51 The Sun Always Shines On TV a-ha
52 Move Closer Phyllis Nelson
53 That Ole Devil Called Love Alison Moyet
54 Say I’m Your Number One Princess
55 Love And Pride (RE) King
56 Object Of My Desire Starpoint
57 Everybody Dance Ta Mara & The Seen
58 Unkiss That Kiss Stephen Tin Tin Duffy
59 Voices Carry Til Tuesday
60 Material Girl Madonna
61 Music And You Sal Solo
62 Moments In Love Art Of Noise
63 Who’s Zoomin’ Who Aretha Franklin
64 Somewhere Over The Rainbow Sam Harris
65 Could It Be I’m Falling In Love David Grant & Jaki Graham
66 Every Time You Go Away Paul Young
67 Castles In The Air Colourfield, The
68 Let Me In (ITA) Mike Francis
69 The Power Of Love (Jellybean Mix) Huey Lewis & The News
70 Hit That Perfect Beat Bronski Beat
71 Rasberry Beret  Prince & The Revolution
72 Oh Sheila Ready For The World
73 You Give Good Love Whitney Houston
74 I’m On Fire Bruce Springsteen
75 How Will I Know Whitney Houston
76 Subculture New Order
77 Can You Feel The Beat Lisa Lisa & Cult Jam w/Full Force
78 Freeway Of Love Aretha Franklin
79 When I Give My Love To You Michael Franks & Brenda Russell
80 Everything In My Heart (CAN) Corey Hart
81 Sidewalk Talk Jellybean ftr Madonna
82 Tarzan Boy (GER) Baltimora
83 Shooting For The Moon (OST) Amy Holland
84 Shoot Me Gino (EU) Valerie Claire
85 Broken Wings Mr Mister
86 Cry (Remix) Godley & Crème
87 Give And Take Brass Construction
88 Slave To Love Bryan Ferry
89 St Elmo’s Fire John Parr
90 The Goonies Are Good Enough Cyndi Lauper
91 Feel So Real Steve Arrington
92 History (NED) Mai Tai
93 In My House Mary Jane Girls
94 State Of The Heart Rick Springfield
95 Eat You Up (EU) Angie Gold
96 Cha Cha Cha (FR) Finzy Kontini
97 Rock Me Amadeus (FER) Falco
98 Imagination Belouis Some
99 And That’s No Lie Heaven 17
100 You Are The Love Of My Life (B/S) George Benson & Roberta Flack
One thought on “1985 – My Top 100 Songs

  1. Aww, yeah! 1985 was a HUGE year for pop – your lists are like my high school soundtrack. And as always, there are some unfamiliar acts in there that pique my interest. Thank Ric!

Leave a Reply

