1981 – My Top 100 Songs

1 It’s My Party Dave Stewart & Barbara Gaskin
2 The Land Of Make Believe Bucks Fizz
3 Believe It Or Not (Theme From Greatest American Hero) Joey Scarbury
4 Don’t You Want Me Human League, The
5 I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do) Daryl Hall & John Oates
6 Wired For Sound Cliff Richard
7 Mirror Mirror Dollar
8 Souvenir Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
9 Tainted Love – Where Did Our Love Go Soft Cell
10 Physical Olivia Newton-John
11 Fallen (LP) Lauren Wood
12 Down Under (AUS) Men At Work
13 Vienna Ultravox
14 Private Eyes Daryl Hall & John Oates
15 Ghost Town Specials, The
16 Genius Of Love Tom Tom Club
17 More Than Just The Two Of Us Sneaker
18 Steal The Night Stevie Woods
19 Who Can It Be Now (AUS) Men At Work
20 Our Lips Are Sealed Go-Go’s
21 One Of Us ABBA
22 Is It You Lee Ritenour
23 Body Talk Imagination
24 Let’s Groove Earth, Wind, & Fire
25 Bedsitter Soft Cell
26 Wordy Rappinghood Tom Tom Club
27 Theme From Hill Street Blues Mike Post ftr Larry Carlton
28 Fool Me Again Nicolette Larson
29 Leather And Lace Stevie Nicks & Don Henley
30 One Day In Your Life Michael Jackson
31 Sukiyaki A Taste Of Honey
32 Rapture Blondie
33 I’ve Seen That Face Before (Libertango) (NED) Grace Jones
34 Stars On 45 Vol 1 (NED) Stars On 45
35 Making Your Mind Up Bucks Fizz
36 You Drive Me Crazy Shakin Stevens
37 Breaking Away Balance
38 She’s A Bad Mama Jama (She’s Built, She’s Stacked) Carl Carlton
39 Shake It Up Tonight Cheryl Lynn
40 The (Disco) Sound Of Music Showstoppers
41 Trouble Lindsey Buckingham
42 Jealous Guy Roxy Music
43 Better Davis Eyes Kim Carnes
44 Under Pressure Queen & David Bowie
45 Take It Easy On Me Little River Band, The
46 Kids In America Kim Wilde
47 The Model (RE) Kraftwerk
48 It Must Be Love Madness
49 Just For You (NED) Spargo
50 There’s Always Another Chance At Love (Trk) Jim Photoglo
51 Fool In Love With You Jim Photoglo
52 People Alone (NED) Randy Crawford
53 Ma Quele Idea (SWI) Pino D’Angio
54 Shake It Up Cars, The
55 Through The Years Kenny Rogers
56 Centerfold J Geils Band, The
57 Stray Cats Strut Stray Cats
58 Just The Two Of Us Grover Washington Jr
59 All Those Years Ago George Harrison
60 I Want You I Need You Chris Christian
61 I Could Never Miss You More Than I Do Lulu
62 Harden My Heart Quarterflash
63 Favourite Shirts (Boy Meets Girl) Haircut One Hundred
64 Reality (ITA) Richard Sanderson
65 Girls On Film Duran Duran
66 Tempted Squeeze
67 Sweet Baby George Duke & Stanley Clarke
68 Cool Night Paul Davis
69 Urgent Foreigner
70 Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic Police, The
71 What Becomes Of The Broken Hearted Dave Stewart & Colin Blunstone
72 Time Alan Parson’s Project
73 Ai No Corrida Quincy Jones
74 Can You Feel It Jacksons, The
75 No Reply At All Genesis
76 Start Me Up Rolling Stones, The
77 Leader Of The Band Dan Fogelberg
78 Arthur’s Theme (Best That You Can Do) Christopher Cross
79 Turn Your Love Around George Benson
80 I Love My Lady (Trk) Johnny Mathis
81 Love Action (I Believe In Love) Human League, The
82 Japanese Boy Aneka
83 You Make My Dreams Daryl Hall & John Oates
84 Slow Hand Pointer Sisters, The
85 Queen Of Hearts Juice Newton
86 I Go To Sleep Pretenders
87 Open Your Heart Human League, The
88 Daddy’s Home Cliff Richard
89 Just Can’t Get Enough Depeche Mode
90 Living Inside Myself Gino Vannelli
91 Get Down On It Kool & The Gang
92 All I Do (Trk) Stevie Wonder
93 In The Air Tonight Phil Collins
94 For Your Eyes Only Sheena Easton
95 Hard To Say Dan Fogelberg
96 Stand And Deliver Adam & The Ants
97 Under Your Spell Godley & Crème
98 Shut Up Madness
99 Joan Of Arc Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
100 Pull Up To The Bumper Grace Jones
   

 

4 thoughts on “1981 – My Top 100 Songs

  1. Another spectacularly varied list with many surprises! Bucks Fizz?!

    I suspect 1982 will be loaded with even more classics…

    • Hiya, Chris!
      Yeah, Bucks Fizz was UK’s answer to Sweden’s ABBA, and they came onto the scene just when ABBA was just about to “retire”. Short-lived high-end success in the UK, but I sure adored their early singles.
      I do like to think I’m eclectic. High-brow or cheesy, if it’s infectious or gives me chills, it’s up my alley.
      Stay tuned for ’82!

  2. Hey Ric. Another fabbo list there. I also thought that “The Land of Make Believe” was a lot better than their Eurovision Song Contest-winning “Making Your Mind Up”. 🙂

    • Thanks Grant!
      Yes, Making Your Mind Up is very targeted for the Eurovision, but it has no hold on Land Of Make Believe. I also preferred their next two follow-up singles to Making You Mind Up as well, and those will be in my ’82 list.

Leave a comment